(SAVANNAH SPOTLIGHT) on Carmel Hearn. 10 Things You Did Not Know about Carmel:

ABOUT CARMEL HEARN:

Savannah native Carmel (Garvin) Hearn has been a writer and video producer for more than 30 years. The honors graduate earned a Bachelor of Arts in English from Armstrong State University and began her career as a news reporter and anchor at WSAV TV in Savannah. She later served as the City of Savannah’s original Cable Access Coordinator, where she created and managed the City’s government access channel and became FEMA-certified as an Advanced Public Information Officer.

After her husband’s career took the family to Atlanta in 1998, she became a television writer and publicist for the Emmy-nominated Jim Fowler’s Life in the Wild syndicated television series (Fox, UPN) and the Fox television network series, Keeping it Wild with Jason Raize. She also wrote, produced and voiced corporate videos for Bell South, Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta and Flooring America.

From 2007-2012, Hearn was employed as an account manager with the Atlanta marketing agency, O’Neill Communications, representing national associations and international food industry clients. She also served as managing editor for three medical association newsletters, wrote feature articles for the Georgia Council of Developmental Disabilities’ Making a Difference magazine and wrote and produced videos for clients of the firm.

In 2013, Hearn launched a marketing consulting business and currently works with clients in Savannah and Atlanta. Offering expertise in brand strategy, web content development, public relations and social media management, Hearn’s recent projects include developing the launch of a children’s book series and writing feature articles for The Shelby Report, the leading publication for the food and grocery industry. She is also a contributing writer with Carriage Trade Public Relations and Cecilia Russo Marketing.

She and husband Phil have a grown daughter, Alex, who lives in Savannah. In her leisure time, Hearn enjoys writing and participating in theatrical productions. She has most recently appeared as Margaret in the Savannah Community Theatre’s (SCT) 2014 production of The Savannah Disputation and Mother/Party Guest in SCT’s Johnny Mercer and Me. Her scripts include Who Wants to Be the Most Important Georgian, a touring production presented in Athens/Clarke County and Savannah area schools, and she has had several of her works published in Drama Ministry magazine. Hearn also enjoys writing and directing productions for her church drama team and singing with the Cherokee Chorale. Most of all, she enjoys surf, sand, fishing and fun with family and friends on the Georgia coast.

Carmel Hearn

Carmel Hearn

CARMEL’S SPOTLIGHT:
Q: What is your favorite book?
A: If I could take only one book onto a desert island, I’d have to choose The Bible, but Margaret Mitchell’s Gone with the Wind would be a close second. Some of my favorite past reads are: The Dangerous Lives of Altar Boys, by Chris Fuhrman, John Jakes’ North and South trilogy, and anything by Pat Conroy, Anne Rivers Siddons, Dorothea Benton Frank and Tennessee Williams. My favorite play is Cat on a Hot Tin Roof by Tennessee Williams and Godspell is my favorite musical. I am fortunate to have appeared in both productions back in the day, at The Little Theatre of Savannah.

Q: What is your favorite quote?
A: “I can’t think about that right now. If I do, I’ll go crazy. I’ll think about that tomorrow.” Scarlett O’Hara, Gone With the Wind. My favorite quote from a character I’ve played in a show is Maggie’s closing monolog in Cat on a Hot Tin Roof: “Oh, you weak, beautiful people who give up with such grace. What you need is someone to take hold of you, gently with love, and hand your life back to you, like something gold you let go of.”

Q: Where is your dream vacation?
A: My husband’s family has a coastal home along the Sapelo River at Pine Harbor in McIntosh County, where we have made many happy vacation memories, but I must admit that my “go-to-happy-place” is still and will always be Tybee Island. My dream vacation would be sailing around the Mediterranean.

Q: Where have you traveled?
A: I am fortunate to have traveled to Europe, Bermuda and the Caribbean. My favorite U.S. destination is New York City, specifically the theatre district.

Q: What is #1 on your bucket list?
A: Being a back-up singer for a big band entertainer like Barry Manilow.

Q: What is something that would surprise someone about you?
A: My career, which started in television, was inspired by a kiss on the cheek from Harry Chapin. When I was in college, taking a television production class, Harry spotted me running camera for an interview he was doing. Afterwards, he came up to me, planted a kiss on my cheek and told me how impressed he was to see a female running camera. Later on, I became the first female studio camera operator hired by WSAV TV (or any other local affiliate as I recall). How times have changed!

Q: Do you have any pets?
A: My husband and I love animals and have had several pets, but none right now. Our daughter has recently adopted a stray kitty and we are enjoying being fur-baby grandparents at the moment.

Q: What’s your creative outlet?
A: I enjoy acting in community theatre shows and singing in my church choir and on the worship team.

Q: What is your favorite song?
A: Neil Diamond’s “Play Me,” anything from the 1940s or by Johnny Mercer; Barbra Streisand, Neil Diamond and Boz Scaggs are my favorite artists.

Q: Places you have lived?
A: My hometown is Savannah, and I have also lived in Atlanta and Hilton Head Island, SC.

Q: What schools did you attend?
A: I have a BA in English from Armstrong State University (ASU). Before that, I attended Savannah/Chatham public schools (Romana Riley, Charles Ellis, Wilder, Myers) and graduated from Savannah High School.

Q: What are your pastimes?
A: I enjoy surf, sand, family and fun on the Georgia coast.

Q: Who is your mentor?
A: ASU drama professors John Suchower and Joseph Mydell and Little Theatre directors Bill Stars and Chris Fredeman were big influences in my professional development.

Q: Who would you like to meet before you die?
A: My grandchildren.

Leave a Reply

