(SAVANNAH SPOTLIGHT) on Savannah Business Attorney Charles Bowen. 12 Things You Did Not Know about Charles:

(SAVANNAH SPOTLIGHT) on Savannah Business Attorney Charles Bowen. 12 Things You Did Not Know about Charles:

Based out of Savannah, Charles Bowen is a business attorney who focuses on commercial, banking and manufacturing law and also offers comprehensive mediation services. Bowen attended Mercer University in Macon, Georgia where he graduated summa cum laude with honors in both psychology and political science. Upon graduating from Georgetown University Law Center in 1995, Bowen moved to Savannah and established a corporate law practice. He has received the Martindale-Hubbell® AV® Preeminent™ rating, the highest rating based upon confidential surveys sent to other attorneys.

The Bowen Law Group is a collaboration between Charles Bowen and three other in-house law practices: Roden + Love, LLC (made up of Eric Roden and Tyler Love), the Law Offices of Jeffrey S. Hanna, and the Law Office of Brian L. Daly. Working together, these offices provide a diverse range of legal services in addition to corporate law, including worker’s compensation, bankruptcy, criminal defense, personal injury and domestic affairs. Next year will mark Bowen’s 20th year in practice as an attorney. http://www.thebowenlawgroup.com/

Charles Bowen of The Bowen Law Group

Charles Bowen of The Bowen Law Group

Charles Bowen’s SPOTLIGHT:

Q: What is your favorite book?
A: While I enjoy a great legal thriller or horror novel as much as anyone, no book has had a more profound effect on my own life than “The Age of Reason” by Thomas Paine. It stresses the power of rational thinking to change the world and how it is every person’s right (and responsibility) to make up their own mind rather than having it made up for them by others.

Q: What is your favorite quote?
A: My grandfather once defined education as “the ability to describe a beautiful woman without using your hands.”

Q: Where is your dream vacation?
A: One of my travel goals is to experience a total solar eclipse. Or I suppose I could just wait until 2045 when it happens in Georgia.

Q: Where have you traveled?
A: Most of my vacation destinations have been tropical, such as the Caymans, Hawaii and Jamaica. However, two of my favorite trips were to Amsterdam (for the windmills, of course) and seeing the aurora while lounging in a hot spring in Alaska on my honeymoon. Highly recommended.

Q: What is #1 on your bucket list?
A: That’s easy: eat a cronut! Well, that and watch my daughters grow up healthy and happy, but, yeah, mostly the cronut thing.

Q: What is something that would surprise someone about you?
A: For anyone that actually knows me, probably that I was once studying to be a minister (and I am actually ordained). That, and the fact that after two drinks I magically transform into quite possibly the greatest rapper that ever lived.

Q: Do you have any pets?
A: Two dogs: Prince and The Situation. They are all that are left from a menagerie previously owned by my children that once also included stray cats, fish, hermit crabs, spiders, lizards and, I’m fairly certain, a chupacabra.

Q: What is your creative outlet?
A: Encouraging my daughters in their acting and running lines with them. It turns out I am pretty good at the roles of “impatient father,” “sarcastic lawyer,” “exhausted husband” and, surprisingly, “sexy grandmother.”

Q: What is your favorite song?
A: I challenge anyone in the world to listen to “I Want You Back” by The Jackson 5 without smiling. It can’t be done.

Q: Places you have lived?
A: All over Georgia, from growing up in Athens to high school in Pelham to college in Macon. I spent a couple of years in Colorado before law school in Washington, D.C., but I’ve been in Savannah since 1995.

Q: Who is your mentor?
A: I have learned a great deal from many people in my life, including my parents, friends and family (especially my children), but I definitely have to mention my late boss, Michael Weinstock. He had an unparalleled mind and unwavering loyalty to his friends, but what I remember most is the way that he could positively eviscerate the opposing side in a legal dispute while in court yet still be genuinely warm and friendly when the case was over. There will never be another person like him and I feel truly fortunate to have known him.

Q: Who would you like to meet before you die?
A: Neil deGrasse Tyson. He possesses a combination of humor, wit and intelligence that I greatly admire.

Leave a Reply

