(SAVANNAH SPOTLIGHT) Jaime Hanna – the Education and Events Coordinator, Mighty Eighth Air Force Museum

(SAVANNAH SPOTLIGHT) Jaime Hanna

Jaime Hanna spotlight.

Jaime Hanna is the Education Coordinator at the National Museum of the Mighty Eighth Air

Force. She directs the Education Department’s character education program and acts as the

primary liaison between the museum and the Savannah-Chatham County Public School System

to implement and expand the character education program. She was previously a paralegal and

office manager with The Bowen Law Group, Taylor English Duma LLP and the Law Office of

Jeffrey S. Hanna.

Jaime graduated from Armstrong Atlantic State University with a Bachelor of Arts in History.

She spends most of her spare time with her two daughters (and their homework).

Jaime Hanna, Education and Events Coordinator, Mighty Eighth Air Force Museum

Q: What is your favorite book?

A: That is extremely difficult to narrow down as I love to read! If pressed, I would have to say

my favorite book of all time is “Gone With the Wind.” In fact, that book is probably the primary

reason I moved to the South! I am also a huge history buff–particularly World War II–so I also

greatly enjoy reading books relating to that era. The best one I read recently was “A Higher

Call,” an incredible true story of an act of compassion by a German fighter pilot.

Q: What is your favorite quote?

A: “Nuts!” — General Anthony McAuliffe’s response when given a German surrender

ultimatum during the Battle of the Bulge.

Q: Where is your dream vacation?

A: Ever since I saw the movie “Mamma Mia” I have wanted to visit the beautiful Greek island of

Skopelos where it was filmed.

Q: What’s #1 on your bucket list?

A: To see and walk the beaches of Normandy, France.

Q: What is something that would surprise someone about you?

A: I am obsessed with ice hockey and the movie “Unforgiven.”

Q: Do you have any pets?

A: I have an English Springer Spaniel mix named Hailey. She was a rescue dog and without

question the best dog in the entire world.

Q: What is your favorite song?

A: Largely depends on my mood, although I am partial to classic rock and modern country

music.

Q: Places you have lived?

A: I grew up in a very small town in Michigan called Ortonville (which sounds like it belongs

in a Dr. Seuss book). After graduating high school, I moved to Savannah, where I sorely

underestimated what 108 degrees with 90% humidity feels like.

Q: What is your dream job?

A: A position where I could combine the research and writing skills I developed in the legal

industry with the interaction with the public, the military and the community that my experience

with the Mighty Eighth has afforded me. Secretary of State, perhaps?

Q: What are your pastimes?

A: I enjoy spending time with my family, reading and exploring Savannah because there is

always something new to discover!

Q: Who would you like to meet before you die?

A: I would definitely have to say my great-great-grandchildren…

Leave a Reply

